Dallas and Art – 1

I’m in Dallas, and it’s hot. One hundred degrees in the shade, which thankfully is manifold.

Dallas isn’t just the land of hats n’ kickers, lognhorns, spice and good ol’ boys. It is the land of art and fabulous architecture and very, very good food. Last night I went with friends to Stephen Pyles Restaurant on Ross Street. It was a delight to sit outside being ruffled by the slight breeze, sipping a French rosé (Domaine d’Hortus) while dipping naan into hummus, a multi-cultural mix in the land of the longhorn. This points out one of the glories of eating in the USA. There are no barriers, anything goes. Mr. Pyles has taken East Indian food and mixed it with that from the Middle East and the Magrhreb. Does anyone care where it came from, in favor of that it tastes so good? I doubt it – this master of foodcraft never ceases to delight his faithful followers – the place was overflowing. Stephen Pyles’ Restaurant 1807 Ross Avenue Dallas, TX 75201-8002 (214) 580-7000.

East Indian Chicken with Cashews at Stephen Pyles Restaurant

His restaurant is right near the Margot and Bill Winspear Opera house, awesomely glowing red in the night. Designed by Foster + Partners it is close to if not part of the Dallas Arts District where I.M. Pei has two signature creations, each seeming to be made of fabric. They fold into themselves as they spear the sky. Foster + Partners designed the Annette Strauss Artists’ Square, and the City Performance Hall, another architectural wonder, is thanks to Skidmore, Owings, and Merrill. Speaking of lush and shade, there is also the Michel Desvigne Elaind D. And Charles A. Sammons Park. Why so much art – inside and out – in Dallas? It’s been a forty-plus year project, funded mostly by private donations from people who want urban beauty. It’s so far a huge success.

This early morning, granola is on the menu. If you like being awakened by crunch and a slight sweetness, try the granola recipe in Nuts in the Kitchen (page 4-5). It’s a blend of the sweet and savory, the crisp and the crunchy. Serve it with seasonal fruit which would be, right this very minute, a big mound of strawberries. Bon Appétit!

Comments
6 Responses to “Dallas and Art – 1”
  1. Josephine Lee says:

    Susan – we are so enjoying all the description and details of your time in Texas. We’re
    jealous – but delighted you are having such a good time – as I imagine the Texans who
    meet you are also. Keep up the good work – am
    going to make your granola this week!!!!
    Love Josephine and Michael

  2. Susan says:

    Josephine! so glad you’re reading! Enjoy the granola…it’s delicious. And yes, I always love Texas!

    Susan

  3. Kathy Truett says:

    Susan, thank you so much for the delicious cooking demo at Central Market last night and the wonderful stories you shared at the Milestone Culinary Arts Center luncheon today. I have and will continue to treasure the books you signed for me and I especially look forward to going “nuts in my kitchen!”

    I look forward to coming to your cooking school in Louviers one day (after my vacation to Villefranche for the immersion French I will begin saving for Louviers!)

    One of your many new “Texas Friends”!

    Kathy (sorry about the heat!)

  4. Susan says:

    kathy,
    I look forward to welcoming you to Louviers! Have a wonderful time in Villefranche…!

    Bises,

    Susan

  5. Susan – French Affaires loved hosting you in Dallas on Monday!

    You regaled our France-loving group with wonderful tales about cooking and living in France…”France is a gracious place to live” but “the red tape is infernal” and “America has peanut butter”. Speaking of nuts, we can’t wait to try your ‘favorite three recipes’ from “Nuts in the Kitchen”…I wish I had remembered to get you to sign my copy…zut!

    Our next rendez-vous is the Paris market and cooking day with you and “On Rue Tatin” in early November . Our French Affaires ‘Gourmet Paris’ travelers are in for a super-French culinary treat with your tremendous expertise and warm personality thrown in.

    Again, thanks for bringing a bit of France to Dallas this week. We look forward to hosting you soon in Texas for a multi-day cooking class where we all can roll up our sleeves and COOK.

    Until then, Happy Book Tour and à très bientôt!
    Elizabeth

  6. nutsin says:

    Elizabeth!

    I’ve been on a happy hiatus as I returned to France, my daughter, my garden, sun, swim and yes, an overdose of work! I loved my moment with French Affaires and look forward to a repeat so I can get back to Dallas and all that fun, good food, good times!

    Susan

Leave a comment